Cost comparison · last verified 2026-10-28
Datadog vs Dynatrace cost
Answer: As of 2026-10-28, Datadog offers a free plan (Up to 5 Basic hosts; 1-day metric retention (Free tier after trial)) and states paid entry as $15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand); Dynatrace has no free plan (Free trial only ("Try it free")) and states paid entry as $7/mo per host (billed $0.01/host/hour). Numbers are copied from each vendor’s own pricing page — we do not invent unit rates.
Key stats
- Datadog free: Up to 5 Basic hosts; 1-day metric retention (Free tier after trial)
- Datadog paid from: $15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand)
- Dynatrace free: No free plan
- Dynatrace paid from: $7/mo per host (billed $0.01/host/hour)
- Last verified: 2026-10-28 / 2026-10-24
Side-by-side data
| Field | Datadog | Dynatrace |
|---|---|---|
| Category | APM & full-stack | APM & full-stack |
| Free plan | Free plan | None |
| Free limits | Up to 5 Basic hosts; 1-day metric retention (Free tier after trial) | Free trial only ("Try it free") |
| Paid from | $15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand) | $7/mo per host (billed $0.01/host/hour) |
| Pricing model | Per host + per product usage | Hourly usage rates under an annual platform commitment |
| Card required | not stated | not stated |
| Last verified | 2026-10-28 | 2026-10-24 |
| Source | pricing ↗ | pricing ↗ |
Gotchas
Datadog
- Each product is billed separately
- New Basic host tier (Oct 2026) is contact-sales pricing; no container monitoring on Basic hosts
- Short retention (1 days) limits post-incident analysis.
- Trial only: plan for a paid tier after the trial window.
Dynatrace
- Requires an annual commitment
- Trial only: plan for a paid tier after the trial window.
Related
- Datadog pricing (2026)
- Dynatrace pricing (2026)
- Datadog vendor page
- Dynatrace vendor page
- Interactive compare tool
Free savings estimate · 2 minutes
See what you’d save switching stacks in 2 minutes
Choosing between Datadog and Dynatrace? Free top-line range; full report $149.
Get weekly pricing-change alerts
When either vendor moves a free tier or price, we log it with a source.
Cite this
Copy for AI tools, writers and procurement docs. Attribution requested under CC BY 4.0.
Data: Datadog vs Dynatrace comparison as of 2026-10-28. Source: O11y Watch (https://o11y-watch.pages.dev). License: CC BY 4.0. Please attribute "O11y Watch" with a link to https://o11y-watch.pages.dev/.