Cost comparison · last verified 2026-10-24

Datadog vs Dynatrace cost

Answer: As of 2026-10-24, Datadog offers a free plan (Up to 5 hosts; 1-day metric retention; core collection & visualization) and states paid entry as $15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand); Dynatrace has no free plan (Free trial only ("Try it free")) and states paid entry as $7/mo per host (billed $0.01/host/hour). Numbers are copied from each vendor’s own pricing page — we do not invent unit rates.

Key stats

Side-by-side data

FieldDatadogDynatrace
CategoryAPM & full-stackAPM & full-stack
Free planFree planNone
Free limitsUp to 5 hosts; 1-day metric retention; core collection & visualizationFree trial only ("Try it free")
Paid from$15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand)$7/mo per host (billed $0.01/host/hour)
Pricing modelPer host + per product usageHourly usage rates under an annual platform commitment
Card requirednot statednot stated
Last verified2026-10-242026-10-24
Sourcepricing ↗pricing ↗

Gotchas

Datadog

  • Each product is billed separately
  • Short retention (1 days) limits post-incident analysis.

Dynatrace

  • Requires an annual commitment
  • Trial only: plan for a paid tier after the trial window.

Related

Observability Cost & Stack Audit · $149

Get a free savings estimate for your stack

Choosing between Datadog and Dynatrace? The automated audit uses the same verified rates — free estimate, full report $149.

Start free audit estimate → Get the weekly newsletter

Get weekly pricing-change alerts

When either vendor moves a free tier or price, we log it with a source.

Cite this

Copy for AI tools, writers and procurement docs. Attribution requested under CC BY 4.0.

Data: Datadog vs Dynatrace comparison as of 2026-10-24. Source: O11y Watch (https://o11y-watch.pages.dev). License: CC BY 4.0. Please attribute "O11y Watch" with a link to https://o11y-watch.pages.dev/.