Cost comparison · last verified 2026-10-24

Datadog vs Honeycomb cost

Answer: As of 2026-10-24, Datadog offers a free plan (Up to 5 hosts; 1-day metric retention; core collection & visualization) and states paid entry as $15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand); Honeycomb offers a free plan (Up to 20M events/mo and 100M metric data points/mo; 2 triggers) and states paid entry as Pro from $150/mo. Numbers are copied from each vendor’s own pricing page — we do not invent unit rates.

Key stats

Side-by-side data

FieldDatadogHoneycomb
CategoryAPM & full-stackAPM & full-stack
Free planFree planFree forever
Free limitsUp to 5 hosts; 1-day metric retention; core collection & visualizationUp to 20M events/mo and 100M metric data points/mo; 2 triggers
Paid from$15/host/mo (Infrastructure Pro, billed annually; $18 on-demand)Pro from $150/mo
Pricing modelPer host + per product usageEvent volume tiers
Card requirednot statednot stated
Last verified2026-10-242026-10-24
Sourcepricing ↗pricing ↗

Gotchas

Datadog

  • Each product is billed separately
  • Short retention (1 days) limits post-incident analysis.

Honeycomb

None recorded.

Related

Observability Cost & Stack Audit · $149

Get a free savings estimate for your stack

Choosing between Datadog and Honeycomb? The automated audit uses the same verified rates — free estimate, full report $149.

Start free audit estimate → Get the weekly newsletter

Get weekly pricing-change alerts

When either vendor moves a free tier or price, we log it with a source.

Cite this

Copy for AI tools, writers and procurement docs. Attribution requested under CC BY 4.0.

Data: Datadog vs Honeycomb comparison as of 2026-10-24. Source: O11y Watch (https://o11y-watch.pages.dev). License: CC BY 4.0. Please attribute "O11y Watch" with a link to https://o11y-watch.pages.dev/.